Once again this year, EDF is putting up illuminations on the Chevril dam every evening from 17 December 2021 to 15 March 2022, from dusk to 11pm.
A renowned symbol of Tignes, the dam marked a turning point in the lives of the Tignards.
The historic village of Tignes, originally located in the valley, was submerged by water with the creation of the dam in 1952. Launched in the summer of 1947, the construction of the dam forced the Tignards to leave their village, a poignant moment for the families leaving behind their cherished homes.
But the Tignards were not easily defeated and rebuilt their new village higher up, in Tignes Les Boisses. To keep a link with their history, the old church was reproduced identically. The Saint Jacques de Tarentaise church visible today at the entrance of Tignes 1800 is a replica of the old church, and contains original pieces of furniture and altarpieces.
In 2002, the sculptor Livio Benedetti created La Dame du Lac, in homage of the old Tignes and a symbol of hope for the future. The sculpture is located by the lake near the village of Villaret du Nial, on the road to Val d'Isère.
During all the summer, take part of our guided visits and discover all the secret of the dam. An unforgettable experience ! (Warning : only in French)
In 2022, Tignes will celebrate the 70th anniversary of the Chevril dam. Come and visit us under the Lagon until 30 September 2022 to see an original photo exhibition on the construction of this dam and the sinking of the old village of Tignes.
The Chevril dam is a truly spectacular construction. Here are some dizzying figures to get your head around:
In the summer of 1989, Jean-Pierre Pierret began creation of a huge 12,000 m² fresco on the vault of the dam representing Hercules. The giant of Tignes was born.
Not much of the 6 tons of paint used remains of this fleeting fresco.
However even today, the most discerning eyes will still be able to make out the features of the giant.
See all partners